The four subvenues of WRG 2019 and their competitions

June 18, 2019

Vilanova i la Geltrú, Sant Cugat del Vallès, Terrassa and Mollet del Vallès are the four subvenues of the World Roller Games 2019 set to host several Men’s and Women’s Rink Hockey and Roller Derby Championships during the event, whose main venue will be the city of Barcelona. Up to seven Rink Hockey tournaments will be staged in the first three locations, while both a Men’s and Women’s Roller Derby competition will be held in Mollet del Vallès.

Vilanova i la Geltrú will host the matches of the first phase of the Men’s and Women’s Rink Hockey World Championships, as well as the entire Men’s U19 World Championship and Intercontinental Champioship. All the matches will be played at CEM Isaac Gálvez.

- Men’s World Championship (1st phase, 6-9 July)

Participating teams: Spain, Angola, Italy, France, Chile, Argentina, Portugal and Colombia.

- Women’s World Championship (1st phase, 6-9 July; two quarter-final matches, 11 July; and matches for 5th and 7th place, 13 July)

Participating teams: Spain, France, Chile, Argentina, Germany, Italy, Portugal and Switzerland.

- Men’s U19 World Championship (29 June-5 July)

Participating teams: Spain, Chile, Switzerland, Colombia, USA, Argentina, Portugal and Italy.

- Men’s U19 Intercontinental Championship (29 June-4 July)

Participating teams: Egypt, Great Britain, India, Mozambique and Andorra.

Terrassa will be the setting for the Men’s Challenger’s Championship, which includes the participation of 11 teams. The tournament will be held at the Poliesportiu Municipal de la Maurina between 7 and 13 July.

Participating teams: Belgium, China-Taipei, Japan, New Zealand, Austria, Uruguay, China-Macau, P. R. China, Netherlands, India and USA.

The Men’s and Women’s Intercontinental Championship and Men’s U19 Intercontinental Championship will take place in Sant Cugat del Vallès, with ZEM Rambla Celler set to host all the competition matches.

- Men’s Senior Intercontinental Championship (7-13 July)

Participating teams: Brazil, Andorra, Great Britain, Germany, Switzerland, Australia, Mozambique and Egypt.

- Women’s Senior Intercontinental Championship (7-13 July)

Participating teams: Colombia, USA, India, Egypt, Japan, Great Britain and P. R. China.

Finally, the Pavelló Municipal d’Esports Riera Seca in Mollet del Vallès will host the Men’s and Women’s Roller Derby World Championships.

- Men’s World Championship (9-13 July)

Participating teams: Spain, Australia, P. R. China, Japan and USA.

- Women’s World Championship (9-13 July)

Participating teams: Spain, P. R. China, Australia, India and USA.

Related news