Three team sports among 11 WRG2019 disciplines

June 27, 2019

The curtain will rise on the World Roller Games on 4 July with the staging of 11 different world championships, three of these being team sports: Rink Hockey, Inline Hockey and Roller Derby.

The Rink Hockey competition will reignite the historic battle between Spain, Portugal and Argentina, primarily for the title of men’s world champion. The Spaniards are the current titleholders and will be looking to add to their list of honours at Palau Blaugrana.

Spain won the double at the WRG Nanjing 2017 when it also clinched the gold medal in the women’s category. The world championship of the WRG 2019 will take place in Vilanova i la Geltrú and Barcelona between 6 and 14 July.

Roller Derby will take place from 9 to 13 July at the Pavelló Municipal Riera Seca in Mollet del Vallès and will include both men’s and women’s teams. The women from the US team, champions in Nanjing, will defend their title of this contact sport after having qualified ahead of Australia and Spain in 2017. The men’s teams, on the other hand, will make their debut in the World Roller Games with the Americans also listed as big favourites to win the gold medal. China, Japan, Australia and Spain are the other four teams participating.

Inline Hockey is the third team discipline to be staged in Barcelona, at CEM Mar Bella and CEM Horta in Barcelona from 5 to 13 July. France comes to this event as reigning champion in the men’s category and the USA in the women's category.

All except for Roller Derby, the other two team sports of the WRG 2019 will see the staging of a prior version in the junior or U19 categories. And in the case of Rink Hockey, other international tournaments such as the Intercontinental Championship and Challenger’s Championship will be held at the same time.

PHOTO: M. Cattini-FIRS

Related news